This riverside building may have started life as a dyehouse connected with Abingdon Abbey. It was known as such until well into the 18th century and a dyehouse formerly owned by the Abbey was recorded in 1554 close to the river. By 1767 the property had been converted into a Maltings by the Tomkins family, later becoming the centre for all the Tomkins family business interests which relied upon the river for trade.
By the late 19th century the wharf became redundant and the site was sold to a local solicitor who engaged Harry Redfern RIBA (1861 – 1950) to completely remodel the premises to create an Arts and Crafts style riverside dwellinghouse and offices. During the second half of the 20th century the building was owned by Culham College Institute and used principally as offices and as a teacher training facility.
In 2004 WWADP purchased the Grade II Listed complex and completed a conversion project to form the practice’s own offices plus two private dwellings with riverside gardens.
Original features such as inglenook fireplaces, oak panelled rooms and leaded light windows have been retained and restored to create stunning living accommodation with riverside gardens set within a characterful and very historic building.